Elicit Plant: the agrobiotech company for tackling water stress

Elicit Plant, a French agribiotechnology company formed in 2017, has developed a groundbreaking innovation that increases the physiological resilience of crops while preserving natural resources. Our innovative products stimulate the metabolism of plants through the use of plant-derived molecules known as phytosterols. Phytosterols help reduce water consumption. They also protect plants from water stress, helping them reach their full potential.

A rigorous scientific approach

Our innovation embraces and facilitates the shift toward greener agriculture. The studies carried out by Elicit Plant are based on a rigorous, leading-edge scientific approach rooted in fundamental research. This means that our experiments are conducted both in the laboratory and in the field. Our team of researchers, engineers and farmers operates a one-of-a-kind site in the Charente area of France, with a laboratory dedicated to the search for new biostimulants and located at the heart of an experimental farm-a situation that allows us to work in real conditions.

Elicit Plant inaugure son laboratoire de recherche où il développe une technologie de rupture dans la gestion du stress hydrique.
A team of researchers, engineers and farmers working together in a biostimulant research laboratory located on an experimental farm.

Yield gains of up to $240 per hectare

Initial results obtained on soybeans with our BEST-A product are exceptional-with yield gains over three years averaging 10 to 22%. Because physiological resilience is naturally activated, the plant’s water consumption is optimized.

On the farm scale, this natural alternative provides farmers with an opportunity to boost their income while preserving the ecosystem.

Increasing soybean yields by at least 20% and preserving the environment.

On a global scale, this technological innovation offers major potential. Increasing soybean yields by 20% or more without increasing acreage-while preserving the environment-is nothing short of revolutionary.

Reduced water stress

Elicit Plant aims to support farmers all over the world in the transition toward greener agriculture-by helping them do more with fewer resources.

By reducing the impact of water stress on sensitive crops such as soybean, Elicit Plant’s innovation will contribute to France’s protein independence.

The results obtained by Elicit Plant, in both the laboratory and the field, confirm the results obtained by public research laboratories regarding the effects of BEST-A on soybean. We have established partnerships with Terres Inovia technical institutes and with cooperatives such as Océalia and Euralis. The results: yield gains between 10 and 22% in 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Elicit Plant is only waiting for BEST-A to be granted its marketing authorization-and then soybean farmers will be able to put this innovation to use in their own fields.

Elicit Plant is now working on extending its range of target crops. Very encouraging results obtained on corn will soon be announced. We are also working on solutions to reduce biotic stress.

les résultats au champ confirment ceux des laboratoires de recherche publics sur les effets de best a sur le soja
Results obtained in the field confirm those of public research laboratories regarding BEST-A’s effects on soybean

Experts and partnerships

Elicit Plant Research Center, located at the heart of a French farm, hosts engineers and researchers with a range of complementary skills. Our team works closely with laboratories linked to the CNRS and INRAE Research Institutes.

From France to the rest of the world

Through our major innovation that increases soybean yields despite water stress, Elicit Plants aim to take part in the development of an entire sector of the French economy—and facilitate France’s protein independence.

BEST-A soybean’s potential is, however, global-given that most soybeans are produced in South America. Elicit Plant’s expertise is available to serve farmers all over the world. Elicit Plant’s contribution to the greening of agriculture, which is made in the spirit of deep tech, will be particularly relevant on this global scale.

As it has done for soybeans, Elicit Plant develops specific products for crops grown in France with the aim of releasing them afterward to all nations that produce these crops.

Elicit Plant’s values

The farming way of life

Elicit Plant provides solutions that are designed by farmers, for farmers. Some of our team members are farmers, and our one-of-a-kind laboratory is located at the heart of a farm in the Charente area of France. Elicit Plant seeks to understand producers’ concerns in order to provide farm-friendly solutions that are practical, realistic, efficient and lucrative.

Solutions designed by farmers, for farmers.

Respecting the environment

Elicit Plant’s ambition is to offer efficient natural alternatives that help make farming greener. Our aim is to strike a balance between preserving natural resources and promoting modern agriculture.

Our collaborative scientific approach

Right from the beginning, Elicit Plant has looked resolutely outward to work in cooperation with scientific and technical partners. Trials and experiments are conducted with independent partners such as technical institutes and public laboratories. Sharing research results is one of the strong core values that Elicit Plant stands for-and a cornerstone of our long-term vision.

Technical and economic performance that offers a real advantage to farmers

To successfully navigate the transition toward greener farming, farmers need solutions that will support their income. This economic prerequisite has guided Elicit Plant’s research since day one.

Innovation for efficient natural alternatives

Between conventional and organic agriculture, Elicit Plant offers an innovative third way that offers efficient natural alternatives. Many so-called biostimulants simply do not live up to their promises. Elicit Plant provides a product-oriented approach that focuses on brand new, yield-boosting solutions with technical added value-solutions that aim to support the livelihood of farmers all over the world.

Elicit Plant, l’agri-biotech face au stress hydrique

Elicit Plant, Agri-Biotech française née en 2017, a mis au point une innovation de rupture qui permet d’augmenter la résilience physiologique des cultures, tout en préservant les ressources naturelles. Les produits innovants développés stimulent le métabolisme des plantes grâce à l’apport exogène de phytostérols, molécules d’origine végétale. Les phytostérols permettent une réduction de la consommation d’eau. Ils préviennent la plante du stress hydrique qui peut ainsi exprimer plus facilement son potentiel.

Démarche scientifique rigoureuse

Cette innovation s’inscrit pleinement dans la transition écologique de l’agriculture. Les travaux d’Elicit Plant sont basés sur une démarche scientifique pointue et rigoureuse qui s’appuie sur de la recherche fondamentale. Cela se traduit par des expérimentations en laboratoire et en plein champ. L’équipe composée de chercheurs, d’ingénieurs et d’agriculteurs dispose d’un site unique en Charente avec un laboratoire dédié à la recherche de nouveaux produits biostimulants au sein d’une ferme expérimentale qui permet de travailler en conditions réelles.

Elicit Plant inaugure son laboratoire de recherche où il développe une technologie de rupture dans la gestion du stress hydrique.
Une équipe composée de chercheurs, d’ingénieurs et d’agriculteurs avec un laboratoire de recherche de biostimulants dans une ferme expérimentale

Des gains à l’hectare qui vont jusqu’à 200€

Les premiers résultats obtenus sur le soja avec le produit BEST-A sont exceptionnels puisque l’amélioration moyenne des rendements sur 3 années de campagnes est comprise entre 10 et 22 %. L’activation naturelle de la résilience physiologique a pour conséquence d’optimiser la consommation d’eau par la plante.

À l’échelle d’une exploitation, l’usage de cette alternative naturelle offrira la possibilité aux agriculteurs d’augmenter leur revenu tout en préservant les écosystèmes.

Augmenter d’au moins 20 % les rendements de soja et préserver l’environnement.

À l’échelle de la planète, le potentiel de cette innovation technologique est majeur. Augmenter de 20 % ou plus les rendements en soja sans augmenter les surfaces tout en préservant l’environnement, est tout simplement révolutionnaire.

Réduction du stress hydrique

Elicit Plant a pour vocation d’accompagner les agriculteurs du monde entier dans la transition écologique pour faire mieux avec moins de ressources.

En réduisant l’impact du stress hydrique sur les cultures sensibles telles que le soja, l’innovation portée par Elicit Plant participera à l’autonomie protéique de la France.

Les résultats obtenus en laboratoire et au champ par Elicit Plant confirment ceux des laboratoires de recherche publics sur les effets de BEST-A sur le soja. Des partenariats sont établis avec des instituts techniques Terres Inovia et des coopératives telles que Océalia et Euralis. Résultats : un gain de rendement de 10 % à 22 % sur les campagnes 2018, 2019 et 2020.

Le BEST-A montre également des résultats très intéressants sur le maïs : en réduisant la consommation d’eau de la plante, le BEST-A offre un gain de rendement de 10 %.

En avril 2021, l’ANSES a délivré une autorisation de mise sur le marché BEST-A, qui est aujourd’hui à disposition des maïsiculteurs et des sojaïculteurs.

En parallèle, Elicit Plant travaille à étendre sa gamme de cultures cibles. Des résultats très encourageants sur le tournesol seront dévoilés prochainement. La société travaille également sur des solutions pour réduire le stress biotique.

les résultats au champ confirment ceux des laboratoires de recherche publics sur les effets de best a sur le soja
Les résultats au champ confirment ceux des laboratoires de recherche publics sur les effets de BEST-A sur le soja

Des experts et des partenariats

Le centre de recherche d’Elicit Plant, qui accueille une équipe d’ingénieurs-chercheurs aux compétences complémentaires, est implanté au cœur d’une exploitation agricole. Cette équipe travaille en relation étroite avec des laboratoires du CNRS et de l’INRAE.

De la France au Monde

L’innovation majeure d’Elicit Plant, grâce à l’augmentation du rendement de la culture du soja malgré un stress hydrique vise à participer à l’essor d’une filière française. La start-up favorisera l’autonomie protéique de la France !

Cependant le potentiel du BEST-A soja est bien mondial, l’essentiel du soja étant produit en Amérique du Sud, notamment. Le savoir-faire d’Elicit Plant a vocation à servir les agriculteurs de la planète. La contribution de la deep-tech Elicit Plant à la transition écologique de l’agriculture prendra tout son sens à cette échelle mondiale.

A l’instar du soja, Elicit Plant met au point des produits adaptés par culture en France dans l’objectif de les diffuser à l’ensemble des pays producteurs de ces cultures.

Les valeurs d’Elicit Plant

La culture agricole

Les solutions d’Elicit Plant sont pensées par des agriculteurs, pour les agriculteurs. L’équipe est composée en partie d’agriculteurs et la société dispose d’un laboratoire unique implantée au cœur d’une exploitation agricole en Charente. Il est essentiel pour Elicit Plant de se mettre à la place des producteurs afin de déboucher sur des solutions “agri-friendly” autrement dit, pratiques, réalistes, efficaces et rentables.

Des solutions pensées par des agriculteurs, pour les agriculteurs.

La prise en compte de l’environnement

L’ambition d’Elicit Plant est d’offrir des solutions alternatives naturelles et performantes pour une transition écologique de l’agriculture. L’objectif étant de concilier préservation des ressources naturelles et agriculture moderne.

La démarche scientifique collaborative

Dès le départ, Elicit Plant a souhaité s’ouvrir à l’extérieur afin de travailler avec des partenaires scientifiques et techniques. Des essais et des expérimentations sont menées avec des partenaires indépendants, comme des instituts techniques et des laboratoires publics. Partager la recherche et les résultats est une des valeurs fortes d’Elicit Plant sur laquelle elle fonde son programme à long terme.

La performance technico-économique offrant un vrai bénéfice pour les agriculteurs

Pour bien prendre le virage de la transition écologique, les agriculteurs ont besoin de solutions qui confortent leurs revenus. Ce pré-requis économique guide la recherche et les travaux d’Elicit Plant depuis le départ.

L’innovation pour des alternatives naturelles et efficaces

Entre agriculture conventionnelle et biologique, Elicit Plant s’inscrit dans une troisième voie grâce à l’innovation pour des alternatives naturelles et efficaces. Beaucoup de produits dits biostimulants ne sont malheureusement pas à la hauteur de leurs promesses. Elicit Plant développe une approche produit basée sur la recherche de solutions jamais élaborées jusqu’à présent et qui doivent apporter une plus-value technique à l’agriculteur en matière de rendement et de résultats.